Tuesday, March 30, 2010
To Be Honest....
I'm down 5 pounds from when I started the contest at work. I've been at about 5 pounds down for a few weeks. Some might say I've hit a plateau. I haven't really gained, I haven't really lost. Have I hit a plateau? No, what I've done is not been 100% committed to my goal. I could be wishy washy and say I've hit a plateau. However, if I'm being totally honest with myself, and take a good look at myself, what I see is I haven't worked the program to the best of my ability.
The last two weeks have been rough in the weight loss department. I moved in with my boyfriend, however, I wanted my son to go to his school until Spring Break and to start the new school after break. So, what that meant for me was about 2 hours of extra driving everyday to get him back and forth each day. Time, that I would normally be working out. :( I've learned that my body CRAVES cardio and I cannot lose without it. I could have penciled in a little bit of time for working out, however, I didn't. I can eat perfect and if I don't workout, I'm not going to lose. Also, since I workout like a madwoman when I'm "on game" I get to eat extra. It is a hard adjustment to eat less all of a sudden because I didn't workout to earn the extra points. Instead of adjusting my food intake, I didn't. So, in addition to not working out, I've been eating more points that I really have. Also, haven't been tracking the best either.
However, when I look at me overall... I'm still doing better than I would have done pre-weight watchers. Tonight I wanted guac with Doritos... old Erin would have mowed down the entire bag of Doritos. Instead, I took out a small bowl and counted my 11 chips for 3 points. I make better choices when I go out to eat. Now that I'm in one place, I've started working out again.
We all have our own path to go down on our weight loss journey. In my book... I've not hit a plateau, it was just another detour. If I truly want what I really want (health, to be thin, to have pants that fit, to not have stomach aches) then I have to be honest with myself everyday and make the choices it takes to get what I want.
"We tell lies when we are afraid... afraid of what we don't know, afraid of what others will think, afraid of what will be found out about us. But every time we tell a lie, the thing that we fear grows stronger. " ~Tad Williams
Friday, February 19, 2010
To workout or not workout
I'm not feeling all that well this morning. :(
I'm having a lot of guilty feelings this morning about wanting to rest and take it easy. You would think after almost three years of being a Weight Watcher that I would learn -- It is okay to rest your body when you are SICK.
Ive been doing soooooo good since our "biggest loser" contest at work started 6 weeks ago. I'm getting closer and closer to not paying at WW! I know that eating healthy and getting regular exercise is the road I want to travel. A short "rest stop" to help my body fight off whatever I've come down with is not going to undo all of my good work.
I have to constantly remind myself that just because I'm sick doesn't mean I can slack off in the other areas of my ww program. I have to continue to watch what I'm eating and track (write it down) even more carefully.
I will also need to "officially" weigh in this week to help me stay on plan. Often times people don't weigh in because they "know" they won't like the number on the scale. The fact is that weighing in even if you don't like the results will help keep you on plan. Once you allow yourself to skip a weigh in, it becomes easier and easier to keep skipping weigh ins. Before you know it, you are 10 pounds higher than your first skip. If you would have just faced the scale you might have only been 1 or 2 pounds higher, gotten right back into your good habits and had it off again in short time.
One last thought for myself... taking a break today or this week because I'm sick is different than the 'excuses' I was using when I was really on a detour awhile back.
I'll leave you with a quote:
Once you learn to quit, it becomes a habit. Vince Lombardi
Saturday, February 13, 2010
We all have weeks like this...
No matter how much I worked out or how carefully I tracked my points, I was going to gain weight this week. Ug.. I hate having my period! During my years as a WW, I have learned that the closer I am to my goal, the more my period messes up my weight loss efforts. Up until I was about 15 pounds from my goal I could still lose weight the week of my period. Now that I'm under 10 from my goal... I have learned that weight loss is not going to happen the week of my period. I did everything to the best of my ability and I can't control it. I did track my points this week, and stayed within my points or earned enough activity to "cover" my extra points used. I earned over 35 activity points... Weight Watchers suggests that you earn a max of 28. Knowing that I was going to gain this week makes it easier to deal with. I went to WW to weighed in (and pay since I'm not within lifetime range yet) even though I knew I would gain. I needed to be accountable. I needed to 'work the plan' even though it meant that I would see a gain on my sticker. Being prepared helped me continue to work toward my goal. I didn't say to myslef... "Self, you know you are going to gain this week so have a ball.. eat whatever you like." No, instead I said, "Self, you are going to gain this week... keep working your plan so you will have a loss next week instead of a second week of gains." I like the quote at the top. My long term goal is to continue to eat and live a healthy life style and by doing that I will get back to my WW goal. I looked back over the past six weeks when I made up in my mind that I was getting back on plan and really started working the program again. Over the past six weeks, I have lost 4 pounds. I'm very proud of that. So, I was a little frustrated that I gained this week. I knew it was coming but it still "hurt". Instead of having a pitty party and eating myself to happiness, I looked at my goal and realized that my changes over the past six weeks are paying off and I'm going to keep moving along!
What are your goals? Write them down and write down a plan of how you are going to reach that goal. Every few weeks, pull that goal out and look at it. Are you doing what you planned to do to reach your goal? If not make a small change.
Have a happy day!
Monday, February 8, 2010
Get Back Up!
Makes me think…So you have a bad day… start again tomorrow (or right now). Don’t let one day become a bad week and a bad week become a bad month, etc… We all have “bad days” it is the getting back up and trying again day after day that brings us happiness and success. Again, change your thinking… you didn’t “break down” and have a Big Mac. Think of it more like this… as part of my new healthy lifestyle I’m going enjoy a Big Mac once every other week or once a month instead of once a day. :)
Saturday, February 6, 2010
It is all about attitude
Changing our life has to be about changing our attitude. If you continue to think of "good food" as a "break down", then you feel guilty about what you ate, and sometimes that leads you to eat even more and the cycle continues. If you change your attitude to allow yourself little indulgences every now and again your new life will seem much more "liveable" and your chances of success will be better. Getting skinny and living healthy is not about sitting home eating "gross". If that is the life you are living...you won't be living it long because "eating gross" is no way to live, and you will slip back into old habits. If you make your food choices ones that include things you like and that are yummy, you are more likely to stick with your new life. Everything in moderation and portion controlled is good. If something is "gross" I don't eat it - plain and simple.
I may have slipped up in the past but there is no way I'm ever going back to my old ways of eating. Old ME would have downed at least a whole pizza to myself at my son's birthday party plus several helpings of the birthday cookie. New me ate before the party and had a small piece of birthday cookie. I didn't feel deprived because I ate something that I LIKE before I went to the party. I also decided that if I'm going to eat pizza it has to be "pw"... Enchanted Castle pizza is just not "pw". Now Papa's Pizza on the other hand is PW!!!
I'm Still Hungry!
0 point favorites:
1 serving of fresh veggies (carrots, cucumbers, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes)
Popsicle brand sugar free fudge bars (they are 40 calories)
1 Hershey kiss (not a serving, not a whole bag - 1 Hershey kiss is "free")
1 serving of pickled beets
dill pickles (sweet pickles & bread and butter pickles have points)
Swiss Miss sugar free, fat free, Diet Hot chocolate (it is 25 calories - it takes some time to get used to it, doesn't dissolve all that great so make sure you make it with BOILING water and stir for a long time)
Dole Sugar free diced peaches (they are sold in a four pack of plastic cups)
Most ice cream cones (not the sugar cone kind) are about 20 calories = free
1 serving of sugar free pancake syrup
1 point favorites:
La Tortilla Factory makes some HUGE wraps that are 1 point
Boca brand Vegan veggie burgers
Hostess 100 calorie pack cupcakes (chocolate, strawberry, carrot, and cinnamon)
All flavors of Weight Watchers yogurt
1 serving of 4 bean salad from Jewel deli - I also get it in a huge jar from Costco
size of your first baked potato
new and loving it.. "just for one" Green Giant cauliflower with cheese and broccoli with cheese
Arnold's sandwich thins (both sides = 1 point)
Healthy Life bread (2 slices = 1 point)
Healthy Life hot dog and hamburger buns (both sides of the bun 1 point)
Ball Park Fat Free hot dogs
Sugar Free pudding (Fat Free pudding tends to be 2 points and sugar free is normally 1)
2 point favorites:
Hostess 100 calorie pack vanilla cupcakes and Twinkies
1 serving of pretzles
Fiber 1 chocolate chip granola bars (some of the other flavors are three points)
Most brands of 94% fat free microwave popcorn is about 2 points. My favorite kind is Aldi's Fit and Active!
Most WW novelty ice cream is about 2 points. Love the mint chocolate ice cream cones and their ice cream cups - put the ice cream on a cone and now you have a 2 point snack
"Point Worthy Favorites" I refuse to give up:
Guac made from 1 avocado with some seasoning = 4 pts
Pizza - point value changes depending on where I order from
candy corn - 3pts... serving is like 40grams which ends up being about 14 pieces of candy corn, but I love it and won't give it up
My sister's homemade popcorn balls = 4pts
chocolate cake with whipped cream frosting 1 serving = 11 points
Things to think about...
I don't consider a Boca burger a hamburger. Hamburger is made with meat. A Boca burger is something I eat because it helps me feel full and save points for something I really want to eat. If I want a hamburger, I eat a beef hamburger. To me Boca and hamburgers are not even close to the same thing at all. ;)
I have about 4 sets of measuring cups and spoons.. no excuses of "they were dirty" when I was serving dinner. I take the time to measure just about everything I put in my mouth.
I usually get in about 5 points of cardio each day so I can eat more. When I started WW they suggested if you earn more than 4 activity points in a day you need to eat at least half of the points. So, that is what I do. My points get divided through the day like this:
7points for breakfast
9points for lunch
6points for dinner
(activity points and "bonus" 35 used for evening snacking)
For some reason I'm able to come up with more creative ways to eat less points at dinner. I need a bigger breakfast and lunch than dinner I guess.
Only "give up" foods you are willing to give up forever. I refuse to "drink" my points away, so I gave up juice. I Love, Love, Love pizza and hamburgers and refuse to give them up. However, now I eat them in sensible portions and not everyday.
I eat foods so low in fat that sometimes the smell of french fries hurts (physically hurts) my stomach. I gave up french fries forever because I'd rather play on the computer than sit in the bathroom. :)
I'm Hungry!
I’m hearing a lot of:
I’m hungry what do I do?
I follow WW so I try to eat as many “filling foods” (lots of fruits and veggies) or zero point foods as I can. I always have a baggie of veggies on hand for when I do get hungry. I also eat a lot of whole grain breads because they take longer to digest and will make me feel full longer. I would never make it on Atkins.. my body needs carbs to feel full. I cannot make it on salad alone. Something else that I do is ‘eat all day long’. Don’t forget to eat breakfast. Also, I eat a lot of high fiber foods. My oatmeal has 9-10 grams of fiber.
My day typically looks like this:
7:30Car ride to work – box of raisins
At my desk before bus duty or the bell – oatmeal and yogurt and fruit OR cereal with yogurt and a fruit
About 10:15 -bag of veggies
11:30ish – lunch
3:30 – apple in the car ride home
5:00 – dinner
7:30 – bag of low fat popcorn
9:00 - something sweet (1 pt sweet snack)
"You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there."
Unknown Author
If you have trick that works when you feel hungry, post a comment.
